The Basilica di Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari, usually just called the Frari, is a church located in the Campo dei Frari at the heart of the San Polo district.
One of the most prominent churches in the city, it has the status of a minor basilica. The church is dedicated to the Assumption of Mary.
The Basilica is the most remarkable ecclesiastical complex in Venice, and one of the most important Franciscan monasteries in Italy.
Originally built between 1250 and 1338 by the Franciscan Order of Friars Minor, the convent was thoroughly reconstructed in the XIVth century, in a grand Gothic-Cistercian style with three naves and seven apsidal chapels.
Over the centuries the Basilica has come to house an incredible treasure of exceptionally important and valuable works of art, that will take you on a journey through the history of art and devotion in Venice from the XVth to the XVIIIth century.
The Triptych of the “Virgin and Child with Saints” by Giovanni Bellini (1488), hanging in the Pesaro Chapel in the sacristy and considered one of the masterpieces of XVth century Venetian painting, is an ideal match to the “Triptych of Saint Mark” (1474) by Bartolomeo Vivarini in the elegant Corner Chapel.
For more info (timetables, prices, reservation) here’s the link to the official website: https://www.basilicadeifrari.it/en/