It is one of the tallest buildings in the city (82 meters high).
The clock, modified and replaced several times (the last one was in 2001), was placed on the tower in 1344 by Jacopo Dondi.
The dome was rebuilt following the Anglo-American bombardment of 18 March 1945, which caused the collapse of the structure.
The tower was restored in 2002, while since 2005 it has been restored “l’ora nona” (“the ninth hour”), a melody composed by Pierangelo Valtinoni and played by the five bells six minutes before 12:00 and 18:00.
Address: Piazza dei Signori.